Knitting · Spinning

Pink? Pink?? Pink???

Somehow another weekend has come and gone, and I didn’t even recognize it as it passed.  This is happening more and more, and it must stop!  The voices in my head point out that there is evidence of progress, however.  Here is the spun and plied Cotswald practice yarn.  Much softer than the wiry worsted version, and encouraging for future endeavors.

 

The 2500 beads are turning out to be rather frustrating because I have to slide them all over as I knit with the yarn onto which they are strung.  I managed to make 1300 of them disappear into the fringe, and finally got to a row where I could leave more of them stranded in strategic locations.  This may turn out to be the Moroccan Days/Arabian nights shawl if I don’t lose my sanity before its completion.

And in completely unrelated news, I received a notice in the mail that my driver’s license will expire on my birthday in March.  Luckily, the state has implemented an on-line renewal process that saves me from having to find a licensing facility that hasn’t been closed due to budgetary constraints.  It was a fast and easy process, part of which required that I prove that I am me.  They asked me my date of birth, my driver’s license number, my social security number, and my eye color.  Here is one of the choices I had for eye color:

Pink? As in pink eye? Conjunctivitis? Or are there really people whose eyecolor is pink?

 

5 thoughts on “Pink? Pink?? Pink???

  1. I’m in total awe of your beading. It’s something I’ve never attempted and yet the result is so beautiful. Good for you! Pink eyes, eh? When I was a kid in school they took note of our eye color to see if it somehow matched our IQ. (Not very PC–the bad old days.) My eyes were designated as gray. Does anybody have gray eyes. No, they don’t. Mine are actually blue/green–or so my sweetie husband tells me!

    1. Beading is quite easy… and your Handmaiden yarn would be really pretty with beads…!!

      Did they measure your head, too? I read a book once that was printed in the 1920’s. It described the “seven races” and how the spaces between key features and the measurement of the skull indicated what race (and therefore what intelligence level) the person had.

      But I think gray eyes (should they exist) would be beautiful. Mine are brown. Very, very brown and entirely unexciting.

  2. Sheila, as always, your knitting and spinning is inspiring. I love the sheen on the Cotswold. I believe I have some Cotswold down in the Basement of Wool, and now I’m thinking that perhaps I should go look for it. I haven’t tried woolen spinning so it would make for an excellent learning opportunity.

    Would the pink eye color selection be there to accommodate persons with albinism? I believe the lack of pigment in the iris makes the eye appear pink.

    1. Thanks Denise… the sheen is very beautiful. Cotswold wool dyes beautifully (like mohair) and so once I’ve perfected the spinning I plan to play around with that. I bought mine from Chris at Muddy Meadows Farm four or five years ago http://muddymeadowfarm.com/ and am hoping to get more from them this year.

      And you’re right– pink eyes are associated with albinism because there is no pigment to color them and so the blood is the only thing that shows. I guess it would be really weird if blood were colorless!

Leave a Reply

