Uncategorized

Training for the Big Event

This weekend was apparently meant to be the dry run for Madrona. Saturday I met Joni, confirming my suspicions that in real life, she is a superheroine. Not only that, but her knitting is extraordinary, each detail exquisite and faultlessly executed. I want to be her when I grow up.  I am now even more excited about my class with Jean Wong and the possibility inevitability of achieving the Nihon Vogue certifications.

On Sunday I attended the knit-in at 3rd Place Commons in Lake Forest Park. Sherah and other friends and I joined still other friends like Jeannine (oops, there I am with my spinning wheel!), and we made our own contributions to the high noise level. I hadn’t been to such a large Gathering in quite some time, and it was good to see everyone and meet new people. 

All this reminds me that I must pace myself at Madrona. Early to bed, I tell myself.  Lots of rest, I admonish.  Not that I’ve ever listened to my own advice before.   I’ve added another spinning class (Icelandic) on Sunday as well as the class on kumihimo braiding/beading that same day. Once I figured out that Monday is a holiday and I can recuperate from all the over-stimulation that Madrona tends to offer, it was a no-brainer.

If you are going to Madrona, say hi if you see me, I’d love to meet you!

Meanwhile, the First Anniversary Vest is almost ready for button- and armhole-bands, and then some pocket linings.

6 thoughts on “Training for the Big Event

  1. Thanks for letting me post pics of you and your wheel on my blog 🙂 I enjoyed watching you spin from afar! We had a great group! You sure are taking alot of fun classes soon. The vest is super! Oh and on your prev. post, love the artsy yarn in the vase and the “pink eye” choice. Cracked me up!

    1. No problem Jeannine! I’m flattered you thought me photoworthy. It was fun to be there though I didn’t get a lot of spinning done.

  2. Have a great time at Madrona! I am not going this year because I AM going to the spinning retreat with Judith up on Orcas Island, the week after. But I will miss seeing everyone…

Leave a Reply

