Weaving

For my next trick…

I shall weave more dish towels. 

A woman on my team at work is getting married in April.  Their dishes are any and all colors of Fiesta ware– you know them?  The bright and colorful, cheery dishes that have been produced off and on for many, many years?

I wandered off to Weaving Works at my lunch hour yesterday and found fiesta-like colors in 10/2 cotton.

This morning I sat down to plan the towels, based on a huck lace tablecloth in the March/April 2008 Handwoven magazine.  Here’s what I came up with.

Let the fun begin!

7 thoughts on “For my next trick…

  1. Hey, that’s interesting. I just wound a warp for gift towels with a similar hot palette. Not to match fiestaware, but a mural my aunt wants to paint in her kitchen.

    1. Whoa! That’ll be a bright kitchen! I have a friend who has all red appliances and red everywhere; she may get a towel, too.

    1. Neither can I, June 🙂 I didn’t realize until after I had posted this that the tulips in the header photo are the same colors as my yarns. Sweet.

    1. Thanks Katie…. I used PCW (Fiberworks) drafting software and then zoomed way out and did a screen shot that I turned into this jpg.

  2. We have Fiesta Ware dishes and I think these will go perfectly. I love the idea and can’t wait to see how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

