Knitting · Nihon Vogue · Pets

Treadwater Knitting

The Nihon Vogue Vest (Project 1) has arrived at its necessary state of completion for the next class.  Front and Back are knit, shoulders are sloped with short-rows, ribbing is bound off in the prescribed manner.   This is a round-neck vest with ribbing at the neck and arms.  I chose to use Blackwater Abbey’s 2-ply worsted, in the color Iris.

 Thor, who is normally a fairly reclusive cat,  sometimes decides to be almost comically sociable (presumably depending on the current phase of the moon).  It was fun to have him involved in this photo shoot:

Before the next homework assignment takes over my knitting time, I feel I must tread water, saving up my strength to swim the next few laps.  For that purpose, I have two projects at hand.  The first is to complete the sleeves for Misty Gardens (my own design, using Alice Starmore 2-ply Hebridean).  While I love the color and pattern combination, I’m not thrilled with the drop shoulders.  So I will complete this one for a dear friend who loves drop shoulders, and then I will start over.  I want to have set-in sleeves with a wider, more ballet-style, collar.  I hope all the people who expressed a desire for the pattern will forgive me; I must presume that most of them would also prefer set-in sleeves.  If you look realllllly close, you can see that I have picked up the sleeve stitches and knit about three rounds:

The second project is a one I’ve wanted to knit since it was first published last June:  the Traveling Sweater, by Karen Alfke, using the Blue Moons Woobu I bought at Madrona, in the color Midnight Oasis.  This is a fun pattern to knit because the short rows are constantly entertaining.    The shiny-ness of the yarn is exquisite, and it is really nice to work with.   I saw the sweater on at least half a dozen people at Madrona, and it looked great on all of them, from small to large and in between.  Hopefully I can finish it before I am overcome with the urge to knit one of the Bohus sweaters that is due to arrive on my doorstep at any moment! 

Leave a Reply

