Knitting · Nihon Vogue

Madame, où est votre corps?

I’d like for you to meet Guinevere.   Guinevere, named for the medieval images her armour-like chain construction conjurs, came to live with me last week.  She offers the services of a body double, but the deal does not include her head or arms.  Rumor has it that those are to be seen at Le Repaire de Cartouche on Rue Amelot, drinking wine and smoking les Galoises while engaging in witty tête à têtes with other charming heads and hands.

Here, Guinevere models approximately one-half of the Traveling Sweater.  Because the ribbing has not yet been blocked, it looks considerably smaller right now than it will be eventually.   I am pleased with it now that I’ve recovered from the multiple ripbacks.  On the floor, the piece looks nothing like a sweater.

I do understand why this particular design was named the Traveling Sweater.  It is a great piece of portable knitting, once you understand what you’re doing.  It went with me to the optometrist the other day and seduced a young man into the confession that he’s always wanted to know how to knit.  I encouraged this, of course!

Meanwhile, the Nihon Vogue vest, Project 2, is nearly complete.  The only thing missing is the armhole ribbing and the hiding of loose ends.  At our next class session, Jean will check our pickup around the armhole to be sure we did it right, and then we will be able to complete that project.   I am pleased with this as well; the fit is good and I learned quite a few new or previously vague techniques, such as the Japanese 3-needle bindoff, the invisible rib bindoff, the Japanese short-row shoulders, how to make the ribbing around the bottom look continuous, and how to finish off the side seams correctly at the armhole.

2 thoughts on “Madame, où est votre corps?

  1. Hi Sheila — what yarn are you using for the traveling sweater — specifically, what weight. I don’t seem to be able to match the pattern gauge no matter what yarn I test!

  2. Hi there, I’m using Blue Moons Woobu, but I went to a size 4 needle to get gauge (I knit firmly). The pattern says that row gauge is the most critical, so I would try to achieve that if you can’t get true gauge. Because of the ribbing, the stitch gauge is eminently fudgable.

Leave a Reply

