Uncategorized

The Rimmer Syndrome

Day 1 of my 6-day retirement (after which I will elate the world one or two people by coming out of retirement to work again):

So far, I have spent the morning trying to determine what to do for the rest of the week.  Frankly, there are far too many things to do than time to do them in.  If you were ever a fan of Red Dwarf, you may remember the character Arnold Rimmer.  In the book (I never really watched the tv episodes, though I do own them on DVD),  Rimmer is continuously trying to pass his exams to get a higher promotion.  He determines to create the most perfect study schedule so that it will be impossible for him to fail again, but spends all of his time perfecting the schedule and none of it actually studying, and of course still does not pass.

My long list includes household chores, fiber arts projects, a programming project, lunches and dinners with friends, shopping, haircut, Scrabble, Spider Solitaire, Ravelry, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society… I am exhausted already, and no nearer a decision than I was three hours ago when Loki the cat insisted I get out of bed (he is very persuasive).

I shall hereby shut my eyes, spin around with my pointing finger outstretched and on the count of 27, stop.  Whatever my finger points at, that will I do.

Huh.  What do you know– it pointed to a nice fresh cup of coffee.  Yum.

Leave a Reply

