Uncategorized

Retired!

I know you thought this blog was long abandoned. Indeed it has been on my mind a lot, but time is an endangered resource and I was forced to spend it on other things.

Yesterday I officially finished the rat race. It was of course bittersweet to leave my friends. It felt more like I was graduating, and they were not. I still plan to devote time to writing software applications, but now they will be what I want to write and not what my employer wants me to write.

What’s next? We are moving! Yes, we are moving 2700 miles away to the Blue Ridge mountains in western North Carolina. Why there? Lots of reasons. We adopted a home between Hendersonville and Brevard last July and we call it Bebbanburg. Here is a little taste of the reason why:

bebbanburg_view
I plan to update this blog more frequently but the story of our move and new home has its own place: The Chronicles of Bebbanburg. Please follow our story there!

What else is new? I took the Olds College Master Weaver Level One class in Yadkinville, NC the last week in April. (Sadly, Yadkinville is 2.5 hours from Bebbanburg, but still much closer to it than Seattle). Once I get moved and have an appropriate loom set up and ready to go, my progress in the course, along with my weaving adventures, will be documented on another blog, Thrumbelina.

Everything else– knitting, life in general, spinning, pets, etc. will remain here.

Let the future begin!

4 thoughts on “Retired!

  1. Best wishes to you in your Retirement. I’m excited to hear more about your weaving adventures. There are great craft schools in NC. Enjoy life.

    1. Thanks Margarite– the funny thing is, when we bought our home out there I had no idea there was such a great weaving/fiber community! Can’t wait to be part of it.

  2. Best wishes to you in your Retirement. I’m excited to hear more about your weaving adventures. There are great craft schools in NC. Enjoy life.

  3. Congratulations, Sheila! I took a class from a woman in North Carolina through Seattle Weavers’ Guild last February. Her name is Kathrin Weber and her website is Blazing Shuttles. She is a professional weaver and dyer who creates the most beautiful handpainted warps. It looks like North Carolina is a great place to be for artists and craftspeople. I look forward to your chronicles!

    Katie

    _____

Leave a Reply

